An update from ANIC Directors

The ANIC Board held its first meeting for 2022 in Melbourne which coincided with the Australian Nut Conference. Chair Brendan Sidhu welcomed new AWIA representative Andrew Georgiou after Nick Downes resigned from the AWIA executive committee after taking up a new position with Stahmann Webster. Brendan thanked Nick for his time spent in the board and in particular his work as part of the ANC, Audit and Risk committees. 

Brendan acknowledged Jolyon Burnett will be moving off the board since his retirement from the Australian Macadamia Society (AMS). He thanked him for his commitment to ANIC not only as a long serving member but also as past chair. Jolyon’s willingness to represent ANIC on various committees and driving projects on behalf of the whole industry was also recognised and greatly appreciated.

At the ANIC AGM held in October 2022 Clare Hamilton-Bate was elected as the new AMS representative, Brendan Sidhu was elected as Chair unopposed with Richard Sampson-Genest accepting the nomination as Deputy Chair. Brian Casey from the Chestnut Industry (CAI) and Darren Baguley from the Hazelnut Industry (HGAI) highlighted their intentions of stepping down from the Board with Trevor Ranford nominated as the new CAI representative and Andy Gibson as the new HGAI representative.